Contributions

I’m typing this horrible TEA hearing. And without going into details about it a witness was told that her relationship must have really benefitted the child in question. She replied and said, “Oh no, he has benefitted us.” She then went on to list a myriad of things that this young boy had shown her and her husband (both elderly). She said he had encouraged her to do things she no longer thought of herself as able to do…things like swinging at the park or sliding down a slide.

Quickly she was passed as a witness. I don’t pretend to know why, however, before she left the room she asked if she could ask one question. Her request was granted and here is her question.

“Everyone has the ability to contribute, how is “he” contributing in the classroom?”

I was so moved by this question. Such compassion. Such hope. She knew that he had discipline problems in school. She knew that he was complex. But she also knew that he had potential. And although the circumstances of his education are complicated and our educational system may or may not be able to adequately meet his specific needs I cannot help but wonder how am I contributing to my classroom?

And what exactly is my classroom? My social media posts? The line at Costco? My living room? I’d venture to say it’s all of these and more. I want to be a contributor — and my heart has always leaned towards this.

It really is as simple as, “everyone has the ability to contribute” and how are you contributing in your classroom?